Disabling ClaroUp

ClaroUp is our automatic software update program. It only runs when you run a Claro program: it doesn’t run in the background, or when Windows starts up. So it’s quite unobtrusive.

It also doesn’t show itself if the current user is not an Admin on the machine, so it should not bother users on networks or locked-down machines.

However, you may want to disable it entirely. You can do this by writing a per-machine registry key:

  1. Create a registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Claro\ClaroUp (or HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\Claro\ClaroUp on 64-bit machines)
  2. Add a string (REG_SZ) value to this key named Disable

You can write this registry key using Active Directory and other management tools. ClaroUp will still run, but it will check this key and silently close without taking any action (including checking for updates).